Soccer players named to all-district team

Peter Hmung shoots a goal for the Farmers. (Photo by Caitlin Butler)


Lewisville High School forward Peter Hmung, defender Jonathan Lara and Farmers coach Brandon McCallum led a contingent of honored members of the LHS boys soccer team when the District 5–6A all-district teams were named this week.

Hmung shared the 5–6A MVP award with Hunter Hasler of Hebron, Lara shared Defensive MVP honors with Diego Hernandez of Hebron, and McCallum shared Coach of the Year recognition with Hebron coach Taylor Baca, a former LHS girls assistant.

Angel Santana missed out on Goalkeeper MVP, which was won by Hebron’s Chase Weinman, but the senior earned a spot on the first team. Santana’s accolade is especially notable as he hadn’t played in goal during his high school career prior to taking over three games into the season.

Also making the first team were defender Carlos Galvin and midfielder Abraham Escamilla. Midfielders Julio Gomez and Josue Romo were named to the second team.

LHS went 16–7–2 overall and 9–4–1 in district. They advanced to the Region I-6A tournament in Southlake, where they were eliminated by Arlington Sam Houston.

Alison Anguiano was named Goalkeeper MVP on the 5–6A girls team. Vyviene Spaulding was Co–Freshman MVP with Olivia Hasler of Hebron.

Defenders Myah Buhler and Amber Crews, forward Monique Sais, and midfielder Athalie Palomo were named to the first team.