Join us 8 a.m. to noon Aug. 11 at the Gibson-Grant Log Cabin, 4801 Quail Run Road in Flower Mound, for an open house.
In May 2015, Curtis Grant of Vaquero Development discovered a log cabin hidden in the walls of a home slated for demolition in Flower Mound. Grant heard rumor of the story of the logs in the walls from the previous owner and opened a small portion of the sheetrock to discover the logs for himself. He alerted officials at Denton County and the local historical preservation society in Flower Mound.
David Stahle, Professor and Director of the Tree-Ring Laboratory at the University of Arkansas, determined after coring the logs that the logs were cut between 1857 and 1860, dating the cabin to around 1860. The cabin sits on an approximate four acre site in West Flower Mound that was part of the Land Grant that was patented to William Gibson in 1854. The original cabin was 16 feet by 16 feet, and a farm house was later built around it.
Learn about the Gibson Log Cabin and how you can help to assist the Denton County Office of History & Culture, the Town of Flower Mound, and the Mound Foundation during the cabin’s restoration.
Parking is available across the street at Liberty Elementary School.