Candidates locked in for March primaries


The candidates to represent Lewisville Texans in the federal, state and county level governments after the 2018 mid-terms were finalized during last week’s deadline to file for primary races.

A historically red county with all Republican incumbents, the local Democratic party says they have more candidates than they’ve had in years, with all positions but the county treasurer and some judge positions having a Democratic challenger. County party chair Phyllis Wolper said they had candidates from every corner of the county.

“It’s an enormous measure of progress,” she said. “A candidate really has to have the sense that the party is viable enough to put them in these places, and we have, much like a car, gone zero to 60 really quickly.”

The main event in 2018 will be over the senate seat currently held by Republican Ted Cruz. Democratic challenger Beto O’Rourke’s campaign has already made national headlines. The incumbent and challenger will both face a crowded primary, with four Republicans running against Cruz and O’Rourke sharing the primary with two Democrats.

Texas District 26 U.S. Representative Michael Burgess will run against Frisco businesswoman Veronica Birkenstock in the primary. On the Democratic side, a once-crowded field of candidates has narrowed to just Linsey Fagan and Will Fisher. Fisher was endorsed by former Democratic state senator and gubernatorial candidate Wendy Davis in November.

“Wendy’s a political hero of mine,” Fisher said. “She’s somebody who is willing to put her values out in the forefront and not hide behind what she thinks might be more politically viable. I love that. To me that’s the sign of a true leader, and that’s why I look up to her.”

Governor Greg Abbott is also up for re-election with one of the largest campaign funds in the country. He will face Barbara Krueger and Larry “SECEDE” Kilgore in the Republican primary. Ten Democrats, including former Dallas County sheriff Lupe Valdez and Dallas residents Adrian Ocegueda and Jeffrey Payne, are running to oppose him.

For the Texas House of Representatives District 65, Democrat Michelle Beckley is running unopposed in the primary. Incumbent Ron Simmons of Carrollton, however, will need to earn his party’s nomination over Kevin Simmons.

In District 63, incumbent Tan Parker runs unopposed for the Republican nomination while Laura Haines and Richard Wolf will vie for the Democratic one.

At the county level, Andy Eads is unopposed for the Republican nomination for county judge while Diana Leggett and Willie Hudspeth will compete for the Democratic nomination. Mary Horn, who has served since 2002, will not seek re-election.

The full list of candidates across Denton county can be found online. The Lewisville Texan Journal will continue profiling candidates for the major positions representing Lewisville.

Primary elections will be held March 6, with early voting running Feb. 20 through March 2.