Results- Fagan pulls ahead for victory, Kerbow and Lawrence go to runoff


After a long night of tightening the gap, Linsey Fagan pulled ahead of Will Fisher in the race for the 26th U.S. congressional district Democratic nomination, edging him out by 1,400 votes.

It was the tightest race of the evening, even including ones that will go to runoffs. Fagan trailed by 10 percent when early votes came in, only pulling ahead as the last votes were counted. Exhausted, Fagan thanked her team in the morning.

“I’ve had the craziest past two months, I’m just laying on my couch,” she said. “The last couple of months we’ve just been going nuts, working like crazy, knocking on doors, sending postcards. I’m just proud of all the work that my team did.”

The Denton County turnout of 78,474, or 16.51 percent of registered voters, dwarfed recent primary elections in gubernatorial years. In 2014, only 45,047 voted in the county primaries, with 46,471 in 2010 and only 16,183 in 2006.

Fagan will face off with Republican incumbent Michael Burgess (R- Lewisville), who easily won his primary. The race for Congressional District 24 will be between incumbent Republican Kenny Marchant and Democrat Jan McDowell, who earned 52.45 percent of her vote. Gov. Greg Abbott, Sen. Ted Cruz and Democratic challenger Beto O’Rourke all came away with easy victories in statewide races. The race to replace county judge Mary Horn will be between Republican Andy Eads and Democrat Diana Leggett, who soundly beat primary opponent Willie Hudspeth with 74.82 percent of the vote.

For the Democratic gubernatorial nomination, former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez will go into a runoff against Andrew White. The other runoff in Lewisville will be for the Republican nomination for Justice of the Peace. James Kerbow led, but with only 43.32 percent of the vote. He’ll face off with William Lawrence, who took 33.06 percent. The Democratic nominee is Marianne Poer Vander Stoep, who ran unopposed.

Runoff elections are scheduled for May 22, with early voting May 14-18.

Head over to the Secretary of State’s website for the full Democratic and Republican primary results.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here